Targa Tasmania 2017

Michael Churchill LinkedIn

Founder, Group General Manager & CEO

Targa Tasmania is back...

Targa Tasmania is a world class international motorsport event about to enter its 26th Event. This is a tarmac rally that travels over 2000kms with over 40 competitive stages on closed roads for the true motoring enthusiast, catering for up to 300 selected cars approved by invitation.

Targa Tasmania's heritage comes from a passionate history dating back to 1906 in Sicily, where the inaugural "Targa Florio" was unveiled. Targa Florio took its name from organizer Vincenzo Florio. Each winner was presented with a plate bearing the Florio family crest. The Italian word for plate is "Targa", hence the name, "Targa". While Targa Florio is no longer a competitive race, every year a pilgrimage still takes place driving the Sicilian Course.

While all competitors who cross the finish line receive a finishers medallion, those who qualify in completing each stage under a pre-set time will also receive a Targa Plate.

This is the ultimate experience - this is the Ultimate Tarmac Rally.

The team:

Bert van Zuylen – driver

Michael Churchill – navigator/co-driver

John Vass – mechanic

The car:

731 Pengana 350x2

1993 Toyota Celica GT4 (ST185) – the same as Juha Kankannen’s championship winning car of the same year.

As you can imagine the team has been busy with the preparations for the event, check back into this page for our daily updates…